Messaging Gateway

View Only
  • 1.  LDAP and Brightmail 8.0.2-12

Posted Sep 30, 2009 10:35 AM
    This is what we are seeing in ref to Brightmail and LDAP;

This is from our IT Manager

We were running ldap synchronization for a long time in order to take advantage of dropping invalid recipient emails. Synchronization would no longer grab full ldap meaning new users weren't synching so valid users were having their mail rejected because they weren't synched in.

We tried using multiple ldap servers too and all resulted in the same

• 2.  RE: LDAP and Brightmail 8.0.2-12

Posted Sep 30, 2009 11:02 AM
    I would suggest that you give a call to support. This would be considered of high severity because of the lack of mail flow to your users.

LDAP issues can also be a little difficult to attempt to troubleshoot over a forum. 

• 3.  RE: LDAP and Brightmail 8.0.2-12

Posted Sep 30, 2009 11:56 AM
    What is a good direct number to get them at?  I am new to this and they just really threw me into this.  Also, I am still getting spam coming in even after setting the bar to about 45%.  An I still get people that mark items as GOOD SENDERS and they still keep getting caught.

HELP!

• 4.  RE: LDAP and Brightmail 8.0.2-12

• 5.  RE: LDAP and Brightmail 8.0.2-12

Posted Oct 01, 2009 06:38 AM
    Hi Sacosta,

did you consider using Recipient Validation with rejection instead?  That way you don't need to synchronize the LDAP data to SBG,  would allow you to reject messages at connection time and make better use of SBG resources.
    The following KB article explains how to enable that in SBG version 8:
    service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/ent-gate.nsf/docid/2009050414323754
    For further information on the topic you can have a look at the administrators guide as well

Any particulr reason to use drop instead of reject?

Regards,

Federico

• 6.  RE: LDAP and Brightmail 8.0.2-12

Posted Oct 13, 2009 11:25 PM