Video Screencast Help
Symantec Appoints Michael A. Brown CEO. Learn more.

Microsoft SQL backup for Backup Exec 2012

Created: 17 Nov 2012 • Updated: 10 Dec 2013 | 10 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

Hi All,

I am new to backup Exec 2012. I am trying to take the Microsoft SQL Backup with different options available with respect to consistency check(full checkup including index, excluding index, and physical media).

Can anyone guide me about the steps to how to proceed with each options in SQL. Also should i need to install any agent in order to take backup.

Thanks in advance.

Comments 10 CommentsJump to latest comment

ZeRoC00L's picture

The Backup Exec Agent for Applications and Databases needs to be installed (and licensed) on the Backup Exec Media server. On the SQL server, install the BE Remote Agent (push it from Backup Exec).

Then the Backup Exec Media server will recognize that SQL is installed on the remote server, and you will be able to select the databases for backup. For the best practices see this technote:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO74429

If this response answers your concern, please mark it as a "solution"

pkh's picture

In the job details section, you can specify consistency checks to be done before or after the backup.  This will ensure that your database is consistent.

Vengada's picture

Hi,

Can someone point me the location where can i download the SQL Agent in order to perform SQL Backup

Thanks in advance.

AmolB's picture

Can someone point me the location where can i download the SQL Agent in order to perform SQL Backup

You need to install Remote Agent for Windows on the SQL server and Agent for App and Database 

license on the media server. Its the license which enable Remote Agent to backup SQL database.

Vengada's picture

Hi,