Video Screencast Help

Move back the archived mails to exchange

Created: 01 Jan 2013 • Updated: 15 Jan 2013 | 6 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

Hi,

 

I have a requirement of moving back the archived data to the exchange mailbox and decommission the vault servers.

Please let me know the best the best way to do it? I also would like to remove the shortcuts once the archived mails are extracted back to exchange.

 Any help on this is much appreciated.

 

Regards,

Mikey

Comments 6 CommentsJump to latest comment

TonySterling's picture

You can use the Export Archive Wizard.

About the Export Archive wizard

Article:HOWTO56821  |  Created: 2011-08-01  |  Updated: 2012-09-23  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO56821

It should delete the shortcuts in the mailboxes as well.  If there are any left you could set the Shortcut Deletion to older than 1 day then run the archive task in Shortcut processing mode

Setting up shortcut deletion

Article:HOWTO56649  |  Created: 2011-08-01  |  Updated: 2012-09-23  |  Article URL http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO56649

 

SOLUTION
Shaice's picture

Thanks for the details. Do I need to stop the archival task or disable the users before I start extracting the archived users?

AndrewB's picture

how many user mailbox archives and how much data are you dealing with?

do you have journal archives as well?

Andy Becker | Authorized Symantec Consultant | Trace3 | Symantec National Partner | www.trace3.com

Shaice's picture

Only 200 mailboxes which has 600 GB of archived item size.
These 200 mailboxes are located in a clustered environment
All the users will be moved back to exchange

Rob.Wilcox's picture

You don't _have_ to stop the archiving task when you start the export - but it would kind of make sense, otherwise when you have finished exporting there will be new archived items.

TonySterling's picture

You will need to archive task running to be able to run the Shortcut processing.  I would recommend you set your Archive Policy to like 99 years.  You could also set the task to never run by disabling the Schedule.