Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Netbackup 7.0.1 Status 96

Created: 16 Nov 2012 • Updated: 17 Feb 2013 | 4 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

Windows Server 2008, 64-bit, Netbackup 7.0.1, Status 96

I'm completely new to NBU. Attached is each policy that's failing (total of 3) followed by available media (see netbackup2.txt). I added another file (part of a separate file from logs\bptm) that has the status 96 error in it as well (see netbackup3.txt). If needed, I can upload the rest of it. What I understood is that these tapes are supposed to be written over, completely?, every so often. I'm sure others understand this much better than I do. We have a separate group of tapes used for offsite backup, these are our onsite backup tapes.

Per Marianna van der Berg in other threads, I followed this: http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?pag... and came up with this (see below), although I'm not sure if it's 100% accurate.

No, Multiple retentions per media is not enabled.
No, a scratch pool isn't configured.
Yes, the requested volume pool(INFO-4) has tapes.
Yes, the requested volume pool(INFO-4) has tapes whose density matches the requested storage unit's density(INFO-2).
Yes, the tapes from the requested volume pool(INFO-4) with matching density are loaded into the requested storage unit's library (INFO-3).
No there isn't an available tape in the requested volume pool(INFO-4) which meets the previous criteria.
Media is full (that's the problem).

I read http://www.symantec.com/docs/HOWTO50870. There are no additional slots for more tapes. Apparently this has worked for 2 years without a problem. Unfortunately, when I got to the part (see below in bold), I was unable to follow along since I don't have the debug folder on my machine.
Examine the bptm debug log to verify that bptm connects to the correct system. If an error is logged, examine the vmd log.