Video Screencast Help

pcAnywhere Quick Connect

Created: 08 Mar 2012 • Updated: 22 Mar 2012 | 1 comment
This issue has been solved. See solution.

We are using pcAnywhere Quick Connect and we have a policy setup to require user's approval (Require user to approve connection checkbox). This works great when someone is logged onto the machine. However if the computer is at the 'Ctrl+Alt+Delete' screen, pcAnywhere prompts for user approval for 30 seconds, and you dont click either button, it ALLOWS you to connect.

This is an issue as you could connect without user approval, and wait for that user to log onto the machine, and then see there screen, without their permission. Is there a way to fix this?

Appreciate your responses.

-Julius

Comments 1 CommentJump to latest comment

ICHCB's picture

If you are using pcanywhere solution there is a patch that can change the default behavior.

http://www.symantec.com/docs/TECH138171

It is called the privacy patch and will allow you to block connections noted in the table below.  (sorry it looks poor here so follow the link to the kb for a better understanding.

 

User Type Machine State Behavior before patch is applied Behavior after patch is applied
StandardUser Ctrl + Alt + Del Display message box with the ability for end user to only accept connection. After timeout connection is established. Display message box should have the ability for end user to accept/deny connection. After timeout, connection should be terminated.
StandardUser Machine locked Display message box with the ability for end user to only accept connection. After timeout connection is established. Display message box should have the ability for end user to accept/deny connection. After timeout, connection should be terminated.
StandardUser Logged-in Display message box with the ability for end user to either accept /deny connection. After timeout connection is terminated. Display message box should have the ability for end user to accept/deny connection. After timeout, connection should be terminated.
SuperUser Ctrl + Alt + Del Display message box with the ability for end user to only accept connection. After timeout connection is established. Display message box with the ability for end user to only accept connection. After timeout, connection should be established.
SuperUser Machine locked Display message box with the ability for end user to only accept connection. After timeout connection is established. Display message box with the ability for end user to only accept connection. After timeout, connection should be established.
SuperUser Logged-in Display message box with the ability for end user to only accept connection. After timeout connection is established. Display message box with the ability for end user to only accept connection. After timeout, connection should be established.

If you find this post helpful please give it a thumbs up!
If you find that this solves your problem please mark it as the solution! 

SOLUTION