Endpoint Protection

View Only
  • 1.  Performance issues on startup with version 11.0.4000 on XP SP2 and SP3

Posted Jun 11, 2010 06:20 AM
    Hello gurus (I trust), I'm working in a corporate setting with around 13,000 XP clients and my job is to improve boot times. Sometimes we see boot times taking well over 10 minutes (even 20 in rare cases) particularly on a Monday morning.      Please bear with me. I'm new to this product.

By boot in this case we mean from pressing the power button to being able to read email with Lotus Notes.  We have analysed some of the components of the boot (multiple 3rd party processes run during start up) and find that removing Symantec improves boot by around 1 minute.

Why worse on a Monday morning ?   Well we discovered that users switch off on a Friday afternoon/evening. Symantec distributes definitions over the weekend. We deploy at 08:30.   User powers on after that time. Symantec client receives definitions, processes them, and performs a `quick scan`.  A quick scan is a full scan of all currently running/loaded processes and code.  This is  unfortunate timing because at that time there are many processes running to prepare the environment and they are all slowed down.

Anybody had the same experience ?  What action could you take ?

Secondly, I spoke with 2 supporters at Symantec technical support yesterday and learned something that surprised me.

Typically 3 but sometimes 4 times a day new definitions are pushed out by the vendor. They are received by our local management server. The local management server pushes them out 3 times a day by default. I understand this is configurable.

I've worked with different vendors in the past and today we would normally expect to see a tiny delta pushed out.

The supporter explained to me that the definitions arrive to
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\VirusDefs\>DATE STAMP<

and are then processed by the client.  3 folders represent 3 days e.g.  right now we have