File Share Encryption

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

PGP 10.2 on SandyBridge Windows 7 machine with XP Mode Blue Screening

• 1.  PGP 10.2 on SandyBridge Windows 7 machine with XP Mode Blue Screening

Posted Nov 08, 2011 05:50 PM

I support a client that is using PGP.  Unfortunately this is my first time to work with PGP.  They are licensed for version 9.12.  This has worked for older systems, but they recently purchased new Dell computers with Sandy Bridge.  I tracked the initial issues with their version of PGP back to the Sandy Bridge issues after testing (would install and get all software to work, then install PGP 9.12 and would not be able to boot into windows).  I've got a trial version of the current 10.2 (fixed the bootup issues and that is working well), but now when I try and install XP mode I get a blue Screen with "Stop: 0x00000019 (0x00000020, other numebrs which seem to change some)".  This happens when I try to setup XP Mode and unless I'm trying to install/configure the XP mode VM this Blue Screen doesn't seem to be recreatable.  Pre-upgrading to 10.2 I had the machine setup with XP Mode (no issues and software) and it wasn't until I actually did the WDE with version 9.12 that it would either BSOD out with similar Stop error message above or install and "boot up" XP Mode fine, but never boot again after the first boot with the Stage2 error messages (http://www.symantec.com/connect/forums/pgp-wde-boot-screen-bypassed-stage-2-initializing-loader-error-cannot-authenticate-bootguard-).  Anyone have any suggestions on why PGP 10.2 might be having issues with XP Mode and causing the Blue screen?  Anyone have suggestions on items to try to fix this.  Unfortunately it is just a trial otherwise I'd contact Symantec support.  Also if this is the "fix" for the 9.12 issues they have multiple machines that are in the process of getting updated/fixed and will update their licensing to the current version.   Unfortunately that is all on hold until we can ve