View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

PGP 10.2 upgrade problems

Migration User

Migration UserAug 26, 2011 09:16 AM

• 1.  PGP 10.2 upgrade problems

Posted Aug 02, 2011 06:32 AM

Hi all

I just installed PGP 10.2 Desktop pro as an inplace upgrade to Version 10.1.

System is Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit with 64Bit JRE and JDK installed on default filepaths.

After upgrade, I got error dialog:

PGPtray_Hidden_Window: PGPtray.exe - System Error

The program can't start because java.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.

Attempts to reinstall PGP do not fix this issue.

I eventually got rid of the problem by adding path to JRE to the PATH environment variable - but this seems intuitively wrong.

Java does not appear to be listed as a software prerequisite for PGP although as a Java developer, I use daily.

Has this issues been seen by other users? 

What is the 'correct' symantec solution to the problem?

db

• 2.  RE: PGP 10.2 upgrade problems

Posted Aug 02, 2011 08:49 AM

I'm getting that too on my Win7 Pro laptop. Reinstalled Java just in case, no luck. I'd rather not go playing with environment variables if possible as that would require changing 1000+ machines just to make this work.

Going to log a call with our support company to see if they know anything - will come back if I have any luck.

• 3.  RE: PGP 10.2 upgrade problems

Posted Aug 02, 2011 11:31 AM

I'm also getting the same error after upgrading from 10.1 to 10.2.  Running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit and I have several java versions installed (32-bit and 64-bit) but the one in my path statement is 1.6.0_24 64 bit JRE and JDK's 

• 4.  RE: PGP 10.2 upgrade problems

Posted Aug 02, 2011 01:37 PM

Fresh installs are fine - only upgrades appear to be affected.

dcc

• 5.  RE: PGP 10.2 upgrade problems

Posted Aug 03, 2011 10:17 AM