Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Possible Issues with EP on our W2003 file server

Created: 24 Jan 2008 • Updated: 23 May 2010 | 8 comments
Hi
I am a new system administrator for a small company. I joined the company just as a new set of servers was being installed by a 3rd party.
We have three servers one of which is 'managing' EP, the second is an Exchange 2007 server, the third is a file and application server and has an active directory role.

When endpoint was originally installed on the file server we had many problems with the server 'disappearing' from the network and not being browsable. The suppliers removed endpoint claiming that the network threat protection was 'getting in the way' of the servers being able to correctly replicate and set up browsing.

I am unhappy about a server not having AV protection so I reinstalled Endpoint with AV and antispyware only.

We have been experiencing problems with conenction to the server disaperaing and returning. Files apparentlty not being available etc.

In Fact, many of the issues described at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/923360/

All the files mentioned are of a later version than those indicated as causing the problems.

Any one got any ideas?

Geoff

Comments 8 CommentsJump to latest comment

Aaron H's picture

Are you using MR1 (11.0.1000) or the original (11.0.0780)?  The original EP had a lot of problems on Windows 2003 servers, one of those being the loss of file shares.  MR1 apparently fixes these issues, but I can't say for certain as I haven't deployed EP to my server yet.

southendsupporter's picture
I'm using 11.0.776.942 . Any idea how I get the upgrade to 11.0.1000?

I've tried to contact Symantec support but gave up after holding on the phone for 30 mins :smileymad: