Ghost Solution Suite

View Only
  • 1.  Problems with NIC in HP DC5800

Posted Mar 12, 2010 03:16 PM
    I should preface this by saying that I am fairly new to applications like ghost that run through a network with a single management console. I am working to fix that, and have recently installed Ghost Solutions Suite on one of my servers. I've been going through my inventory and taking images of the common machines in my workplace so I can readily push out an image to anyone in a hurry. So far I've worked with 3 different machines successfully (a Dell Latitude D520, Dell Latitude D820, and an HP dc7700) I'm currently trying to push an image out to an HP dc5800 so I can configure it specifically for that machine, and then take an image of it to push out to other dc5800s.

I seem to be having problems with the NIC drivers for the dc5800 though. This is something that surprises me, because I've had absolutely no problems with the dc7700 which uses the same Intel Pro Gigabit card (82566dm) I've read up on some older web articles and forum posts about people having trouble with this card due to it being unsupported by the UNDI and Universal NDIS driver. However, those were fairly old, and I'd expect the UNDI driver to support this NIC by now.

What is happening:

Whether I boot up using a boot disk or with a Remot Client Task, I am able to boot and load the WinPE just fine. However, it never seems to be able to communicate on the network. The console will show the computer as Disconnected, and the PreOS will simply sit there repeating "Polling for boud server XXXXXXXXXX"  over and over.
    When I boot with the disk and try to connect to a session, it will fail every time and tell me to check and make sure I've the the Ghost Cast Server up and ready to accept Clients (and I do)

I have noticed that I can ping localhost (127.0.0.1) but nothing else, including our gateway or name servers. Ipconfig shows nothing as being connected.

Some of things things I've tried: