Endpoint Protection

View Only
  • 1.  Remote client deployment - Event 1013 - Please uninstall your legacy Symantec AntiVirus product before installing SEP

Posted Dec 02, 2010 01:43 PM

Hello,

I'm a fairly new administrator of SEPM although I've been working with the 9.x administration console for quite a few years.

I have a good number of clients with SAV 8 & 9 installed on which I'm trying to remotely deploy my SEP client via SEPM.  I've been successful with some clients but the majority of clients SEPM says it successfully deploys the installation to but never shows up in the console.  When I review the event viewer on those clients, I notice the following error:

"Product: Symantec Endpoint Protection -- Please uninstall your legacy Symantec AntiVirus product before installing Symantec Endpoint Protection."

Since my environment is mostly made up of computers that have SAV 8, 9 & 10 installed, I tested to see if the SEP client would actually uninstall the legacy version first.  My testing concluded that SEP did in fact remove any older version of SAV. 

I'm not sure why I'm having this problem but having to go to the client and uninstall an older version first before deploying the SEP client defeats the whole purpose around remote deployment.

Does anyone have any ideas as to how I can get around this issue without having to visit each machine?

Thank you,

Chris

• 2.  RE: Remote client deployment - Event 1013 - Please uninstall your legacy Symantec AntiVirus product before installing SEP

Posted Dec 02, 2010 01:57 PM

Migration paths
    Symantec Endpoint Protection 11.0.6 (RU6) can migrate seamlessly over the following:

• Symantec Endpoint Protection 11.0.780.1109/11.0.776.942 (RTM), 11.0.1000.1375 (MR1), 11.0.1006 (MR1 MP1), 11.0.2000.1567 (MR2), 11.0.2010.25 (MR2 MP1), 11.0.2020.56 (MR2 MP2), 11.0.3001.2224 (MR3), 11.0.4000.2295 (MR4), 11.0.4010.19 (MR4 MP1), 11.0.4014.26 (MR4 MP1a), 11.0.4202.75 (MR4 MP2), and 11.0.5002.333 (RU5)