Removing old Management server and clients
Created: 26 Jul 2007 | Updated: 22 May 2010 | 3 comments
We have recently added a new server to our organization, which we have made the Primary server in the Symantec System Center. It is running Symantec Corporate Edition 10.1.600.
The old primary server is about to be retired, but we are waiting as there are still clients that haven't been switched to the new Primary server. These clients are mostly field laptops that only check in once every few months, so I can't switch them. My question is what happens to these clients if I remove the old primary server from Symantec System Center? Will the clients connect to the new one automatically, or will they just lose their managed server status and use liveupdate?
Secondly, what is the proper way to remove a server from the Symantec System Center?