Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Removing or Rebuilding the PGP Default profile

Created: 21 Nov 2012 • Updated: 21 Nov 2012 | 1 comment

Our users were using the 'Simple Passphrase' to get past the Bootguard screen, but after a PGP Server upgrade from v3.1.2 to v3.2.1 all of our users started get the 'Complex' login screen with 3 lines.

Symantec tech support determined that the 'Default' policy on our PGP Server was corrupt. They remoted in and created us a new 'Cloned Default' policy, but the original corrupt 'Default' policy is still there. The original 'Default' policy is still listed under 'Consumer Policy', although no one is assigned to it.

The Everyone group was re-assigned to the new 'Cloned Default' policy and everything appears to be working OK again. Users appear to be getting the 'Simple' single input box to get past the Bootguard screen.

Is there a way to 'fix' the original 'Default' policy? Or, is there a way to 'rebuild' or delete this policy?

Comments 1 CommentJump to latest comment

Brian_Ch's picture

You can restore to factory default settings. Like on the Consumers>Consumer Policy>Click default policy then down at the bottom of the screen is a Restore to Factory Defaults. This should restore that policy back to factory default. Hope this helps let me know if you need more information.

Brian