Video Screencast Help

Requiring Password to SEP Service Blocks Definition Update

Created: 15 Feb 2013 • Updated: 15 Feb 2013 | 7 comments

Hello,

We have run into an issue with our SEP 12.1 deployment. Recently, there has been a definition update that requires the SEP service to stop and restart. However, we have that setup to require a password to continue. Now our users are being presented with a dialog box asking for a password. Not good. Is there an exception I can configure somewhere that allows anything coming from our SEPM server to do what it needs to do but also keeps the users out? Thank you.

Eric

Comments 7 CommentsJump to latest comment

Mithun Sanghavi's picture

Hello,

No definitions of SEP requires stopping of SEP services or any of it's services unless there are product updates.

Is there Auto-upgrade package which has been assigned to the groups within the SEPM??

 

Mithun Sanghavi
Senior Consultant
MIM | MCSA | MCTS | STS | SSE | SSE+ | ITIL v3

Don't forget to mark your thread as 'SOLVED' with the answer that best helped you.

.Brian's picture

Doesn't make sense as def updates don't require  what you are describing.

Perhaps a screenshot would help

Please click the "Mark as solution" link at bottom left on the post that best answers your question. This will benefit admins looking for a solution to the same problem.

Sumit G's picture

Can you please share the snapshot of error message?

Regards

Sumit G.

SebastianZ's picture

Updating the definitions will never require password. Only occurences to trigger the password protection on SEP client would be:

- to open client user interface

- to stop the client service

- to import or export policy

- to uninstall the client

 

Have a look which of these options are selected for your clients - you will find in the General Settings -> Security Settings for the affected group of clients.

Berratus's picture

Sebastian,

Right now we have it configured to ask for a password to stop or uninstall the client only

Berratus's picture

OK. It looks like it IS the auto-upgrade package. Any way to allow that without the password?

 

UPDATE: It is not the auto-upgrade package. While that is enabled, the client installed is the most recent version. So far, this has been occurring on machines that are newly imaged and then had the new client installed via script. I re-ran the imaging process and will check to see if the pop-up appears again. If possible, I will capture the screen shot and log files.

Cameron_W's picture

It could still be the auto-upgrade package if the feature sets of that package are different then the ones already installed. For example if your clients had all features then you had a install package in the group that had all features except for network threat protection.

If I was able to help resolve your issue please mark my post as solution.