Video Screencast Help
Protect Your POS Environment Against Retail Data Breaches. Learn More.

Restricted users still prompts the LiveUpdate messager even after modifying the registry.

Created: 22 Feb 2010 • Updated: 21 May 2010 | 6 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

Hello,

We are currently 10.1.8.8000 SAV.

We have three SAV Parent Servers.  One parent server is scheduled to download the definition daily and the other two are to retrieve the definitions from the primary.

To resolve the restricted users so they can LU while not connected to the managed network, I've performed the following:
1) Added EnableAllUsers and EnableAdminForcedLU to the server's registry under HKLM\Software\Intel\LANDESK\VirusProtect6\CurrentVersion\ClientConfig\PatternManager.
2) Click the "reset all" for the client auto-protect options.
3) Enabled the continuous liveupdate settings (using default).

However, restricted users are still prompted with the message "Restricted users can run LiveUpdate in silent mode only. Updates will be automatically downloaded and installed if available. Do you want to continue?" when clicking the LU button.

the managed system has the registry settings, but I don't know why this is still being prompted. 

Any ideas?

Comments 6 CommentsJump to latest comment

sandeep_sali's picture

So after clicking on continue are the clients getting the update or do you get any other error?.

Thanks & Regards

Sandeep C Sali

ailyn's picture

click ok.  nothing happens. 

definition remains the same even after 1 to 2hour.

jhay6600@yahoo.com's picture

have you check your policy settings? There should be something on your assigned policy. Try also this settings on your console.

  1. Open SEP Manager Console
  2. Policies > LiveUpdate
  3. Server Settings, check on "Use a LiveUpdate server" then select "Use the default Symantec LiveUpdate server"
  4. Advanced Settings, check on "Allow the user to manually launch LiveUpdate. 
  5. Then apply the settings, click OK
  6. Wait until the policy has been applied to your Workstations.

Note: You should try first on your test group before applying it live.

Vikram Kumar-SAV to SEP's picture

 It can be due to DCOM permission.

Vikram Kumar

Symantec Consultant

The most helpful part of entire Symantec connect is the Search button..do use it.

SOLUTION
ailyn's picture

applied the DCOM settings at the server level so at least all the managed clients will recieve the updates.   The message still appears but at least the definition are getting updated.

Thanks for your help!!!