Endpoint Protection

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

SEP 12.0 Firewall policy problem?

• 1.  SEP 12.0 Firewall policy problem?

Posted Jun 01, 2009 10:20 AM
    We've been testing the new Small Business Edition with SEP 12.0. I'm new to Symantec's products so ive been playing around a bit. I created a rule to block internet explorer, and placed it at the top of the firewalls rules list. However, if i specify the application as "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe", then the rule is not triggered when internet explorer is run, even though i am launching it directly out of that folder. I HAVE to specify the application as "iexplore.exe" for it to block IE. The real problem is with Mozilla Firefox. Neither "firefox.exe" or "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" seem to trigger the rule and everything is allowed to pass through the firewall. I was wondering if anyone else has seen this, or can maybe point out the mistake I am making? I don't mind the full path being left out, as i think that is a smarter approach anyways (prevents someone from moving the exe and launching it elsewhere), but i thought I would try both incase the path was required.

• 2.  RE: SEP 12.0 Firewall policy problem?

Posted Jun 01, 2009 10:42 AM
    Try using the MD5 to block the application.
    Our discussion here: https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/forums/ultrasurf
    contains instructions by RickJDS to better block any application from running. SEP would need to "learn" the application first.

• 3.  RE: SEP 12.0 Firewall policy problem?

Posted Jun 01, 2009 01:51 PM