Endpoint Protection

View Only
  • 1.  SEP12.1: Purpose of the .slf?

Posted Oct 05, 2011 10:18 AM

Hello everybody,

I'm new to SEP and I'm just wondering. What exactly is the purpose of the .slf License Activation Method if you can just activate by typing in your serial number. My first guess was "offline activation", but someone more experienced with the product told me that both methods work the same way. I've searched for clues on the Enterprise Support Website and in this forum but found no answer. I would be grateful for an answer.

• 2.  RE: SEP12.1: Purpose of the .slf?

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Oct 05, 2011 10:33 AM

.slf file is license file for the SEP or SNAC.

May be this link might help

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=HOWTO55294

• 3.  RE: SEP12.1: Purpose of the .slf?
    Best Answer

Posted Oct 05, 2011 11:12 AM

There are a few reasons why you might pick .slf over entering the serial number.

1 - You can select multiple license files to active where inputing a serial number you have to do one at a time. (note: if you notice some of the quantities disappear, you may need to go to "recover a deleted license" to enable those lost licenses)

2 - If all you have is just the license file and you don't want to open up the file to get the serial number, then this is going to be the easier method.

3 - You need a live internet connection with inputing a serial number in order to register. If you attempt to enter a serial number without a live connection, you will get the error "Unable to connect to the license server..."

With a license file, you can install it even when there is no internet connection.

So you are exactly correct with your assumption on "offline activation"!