Endpoint Protection

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

SEPM 12.1.3 and Backup Exec 2010 R3

• 1.  SEPM 12.1.3 and Backup Exec 2010 R3

Posted Aug 05, 2013 10:03 AM

I recently went through an upgrade to our SEPM software from 12.1.2 to 12.1.3.

Using Backup Exec 2010 R3, One noteable issue has cropped up with 1 server.

All outgoing file copies, and backups are going at a very slow pace.  backups are going at 90-100MB/minute, and copies out of the server are going at 1/10th the speed. 

No other servers are experiencing this issue.  They are all using the same SEPM policies.

to verify the SEPM client is the issue, I have turned off SEP on the server having the issue, and backups/network performance returns to normal.

The server is the only server using Nic TEAMING, All four network ports are teamed into 1 port via bacs, I can't break the team at this time to test anything if this is the potential issue.

I think it is Network threat protection, but as I am new to configuring SEPM, am just starting to look at the configurations, and trying to come up with a solution to this issue. 

I found an issue fixed in 12.1.3 that seems close to what I am experiencing Now, but this relates to windows xp unfortunately.

"Network performance slows on Windows XP with Symantec Endpoint Protection 12.1.2 MP1 installed

Fix ID: 3180923

Symptom: Computers experience network performance problems when the Network Threat Protection (NTP) firewall component of the Symantec Endpoint Protection 12.1.2 MP1 client is installed and enabled. Symptoms include:

• Copying files from a network location over Windows File Sharing takes significantly more time.
    • Programs that are started from a network share take significantly longer to load.
    • Ping responses take longer to return.

Solution: Modified the firewall to call the correct notification routine for Windows XP."