Video Screencast Help

SEPM "Preferred mode:: USER or COMPUTER" ?

Created: 25 Feb 2010 • Updated: 22 May 2010 | 7 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

Hello again,

Can someone explain to me the difference between USER and COMPUTER under the PREFERRED MODE in the deployment section of the management console?

My stats:

SEPM 11.0.3xx
~70 licenses in use including servers....
We're a small company as you can see, so I'd like to have this running as efficiently as possible, before we begin to grow beyond repair.... Thanks in advance...

My question is this:
When I go to view the three different groups of PC's under VIEW CLIENTS (Default, Servers, and exempt), I note that my fellow IT teams logon is also present in the list. In other words, client Joe Shmoe has his name with his workstation that he is currently logged into, but he is also listed as having previously connected  to three of my servers as well.   I can (and have) manually deleted the entries but eventually they come back....

Is there a proper method for addressing this? Would deploying the initial install as USER have helped this situation here?  (COMPUTER being the default which is normally chosen).  Since I recreated the DEFAULT package this morning, I obviously can go back now and change things if I need to.

I'm sorry if my description is tough to follow, reply if you need more info....

Thanks,

BWB

Comments 7 CommentsJump to latest comment

Vikram Kumar-SAV to SEP's picture

Do not delete those clients  Just right click on those USer Mode Clients ( username )and change it to Computer Mode.

If you have not imported Active Directory then it might not be much use for you.

In User Mode -Policy is applied to a user account
In Computer Mode - Policy is applied to the whole computer.

Vikram Kumar

Symantec Consultant

The most helpful part of entire Symantec connect is the Search button..do use it.

BeachwoodBruin's picture

OK, and switching them to Computer Mode will do what exactly? 

Am I..

..still going to see those users on the server?
..saving diskspace (I'm reaching here)

I read the descriptions before, and in a ~70 license enviroment, I'm not quite sure I understand it.... is it beneficial with 70 "users"? You mention not importing A/D (which we did not).

Are there pro's and con's to each method? Or are you saying I would not benefit because I did not import A/D ??

Thanks for the speedy response Vikram.

Vikram Kumar-SAV to SEP's picture

You would not benefit if you not imported AD..mainly because from AD you can import user groups and you'll have better control over the policies.However that may complicate things it isn't that easy as it sounds.

Preferred and best method is Computer Mode. Where when you apply a policy it is applied on that computer no matter who is logged in.

Once you change it to computer mode you won't  see those users you will those computers in which the user was logged in.

Vikram Kumar

Symantec Consultant

The most helpful part of entire Symantec connect is the Search button..do use it.

BeachwoodBruin's picture

Ok, so Computer mode is what we are using, and will continue to use. Especially since we do not have A/D groups even setup.

So then, there is no way around this next part, correct?
My question is again this:

When I go to view the three different groups of PC's under VIEW CLIENTS (Default, Servers, and exempt), I note that my fellow IT teams logon is also present in the list. In other words, client Joe Shmoe has his name with his workstation that he is currently logged into, but he is also listed as having previously connected to three of my servers as well.   I can (and have) manually deleted the entries but eventually they come back....

Vikram Kumar-SAV to SEP's picture

 If you delete it as User Mode ( Joe Shmoe ) it will come back as User Mode.
So do not delete them, just right click and change them to computer mode..
to all of them who are having user icon next to them.

Vikram Kumar

Symantec Consultant

The most helpful part of entire Symantec connect is the Search button..do use it.

Blaine Baker's picture

Vikram, how can one do this en masse without having to manually right-click each client? I have *many* of these as a result of the issue we talked about in my other thread.

Blaine Baker
Information Security Administrator

MySpace, Inc.

Vikram Kumar-SAV to SEP's picture

 I have seen many threads on this may be about 50 but haven't found one with a exact solution.
Looks to me as a bug however if the clients was ever installed with a user mode package then it will stay in user mode even after upgrade.
But if you have't created any such package and still you client installs in user mode then yes it is a bug.

However you might like this tool posted in this Idea section
https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/idea/changing-clients-usermode-computer-mode-batch-file

Vikram Kumar

Symantec Consultant

The most helpful part of entire Symantec connect is the Search button..do use it.

SOLUTION