Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

sharing permissions after backup

Created: 21 Jan 2009 • Updated: 22 May 2010 | 2 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

Hi All,

 

I want to ask question about a scenario.

 

Lets say i take full back of file system. There are shared folders with sharing permissions in file system. After the backup is complete, if i restore the backup, will the folders still be shared and will they have all the sharing permissions intact?

 

Thanks & Regards

Comments 2 CommentsJump to latest comment

Ken Putnam's picture

After the backup is complete, if i restore the backup, will the folders still be shared and will they have all the sharing permissions intact?

 

BackupExec can restore permissions, but since the info about the share itself is stored in SystemState,  if it has been deleted, it must be manually re-creted

 

During DR, of course, you do restore SystemState, so everything should be back when that is completed

If this response answers your concern, please mark it as a "solution"

SOLUTION