Endpoint Protection

View Only
  • 1.  [SID: 21596] - jabber IM client/Chrome - "intrusion prevention"

Posted Apr 20, 2010 09:26 AM
    I am a web/application developer and have always used Chrome without an issue. I recently got a new computer at work with win7 64bit installed, and since then our Symantec (Endpoint Protection) has been throwing alerts (seemingly randomly).

This is what it's logging:

[SID: 21596] Jabber IM Client Connection detected.
    Traffic has been allowed from this application: C:\Users\xxxxxx\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe

event type: Intrusion Prevention

I thought at first this was from opening up gmail with the chat enabled, but this same alert was logged this morning when i just opened the browser.

Any thoughts on how to fix it? I tried adding the application as an exception on my local version of SEP but that doesn't seem to have worked. I wouldn't care except that it's calling attention to me! :)

Any help is appreciated!

• 2.  RE: [SID: 21596] - jabber IM client/Chrome - "intrusion prevention"

Posted Apr 20, 2010 09:54 AM
    in your sepm
    open policies
    IPS policies
    make the SID 21596 from Block to allow.

• 3.  RE: [SID: 21596] - jabber IM client/Chrome - "intrusion prevention"

Posted Apr 20, 2010 04:39 PM

have you encountered this issue, or are you just guessing at a solution?

• 4.  RE: [SID: 21596] - jabber IM client/Chrome - "intrusion prevention"

Posted Apr 20, 2010 05:12 PM
    If you want to exclude that then you to exclude that SSID from SEPM..It might be a False Positive or it can also be BHO, or add-in Loaded to your browser which is firing up this Alarm from IPS.

• 5.  RE: [SID: 21596] - jabber IM client/Chrome - "intrusion prevention"

Posted Apr 21, 2010 09:52 AM
    hi, thanks for your answer, but i didn't understand most of that :) is this something our symantec manager will have to deal with?

• 6.  RE: [SID: 21596] - jabber IM client/Chrome - "intrusion prevention"