Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Slow Speed of Exchange 2007 mailbox backup - Netbackup 7.5.0.4

Created: 14 Jan 2013 • Updated: 15 Jan 2013 | 9 comments
UnionAW's picture
This issue has been solved. See solution.

Environment
Master Server - Windows 2008
NB Version - 7.5.0.4
Policy config - Exchange 2007 mailbox on windows 2008
Currently no snapshot or GRT enabled
Master server is on same site as client, 100mb link.
Data is backed up to a Puredisk storage pool locally attached to the master server

Backup is running at 1-1.5mb a second and causing a full (130GB) to take more than a day to complete. I'm assuming this isn't normal ?

I'm trying to investigate what is causing the slow speed,

I'm aware auto config will have an impact, but not this much surely ?

I'm new to the enviornment trying to work out why certain things have been done.  I'm assuming GRT would only make the backup take longer ?

Cheers

Al

Discussion Filed Under:

Comments 9 CommentsJump to latest comment

Marianne's picture

Mailbox backups has always been known for slow performance. The problem is with the way in which mailboxes are being backed up - the admin account used for mailbox backups litterally needs to log into each mailbox one-by-one to back it up.
For this reason we have in the past broken it up into multiple streams combined with multipexing and multistreaming.

No longer needed with GRT.
Backup Information Store with the ability to restore single items.
Best to config GRT.

Use Handy NBU Links in my signature for links to Exchange HOWTO videos.

Supporting Storage Foundation and VCS on Unix and Windows as well as NetBackup on Unix and Windows
Handy NBU Links

SOLUTION
RLeon's picture

In addition to the above excellect post, please be aware that to backup the Exchange Information Store with GRT enabled in 7.5.0.4, you will also have to use snapshot or the backup will fail.