Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

sql restore / redirect

Created: 02 May 2013 • Updated: 16 May 2014 | 2 comments
This issue has been solved. See solution.

trying to restore a db for my users. running SBE 2010 R2 on Server 2008 R2

the sql db original is on the D drive of our sql server. I want to restore an older file for them to the E drive of the same sql server

i keep getting the error that i must choose to overwrite existing db in properties but i dont want to write over anything existing

i want to put the restored file to a different drive on the same sql server

i may just be missing a few key selections or not typing something correct

please help asap!

thanks!

 

ray

Operating Systems:

Comments 2 CommentsJump to latest comment

CraigV's picture

...to restore to the same server without overwriting the existing DB, you'd have to restore to a different instance.

Check the links below as they all have a lot of information around this:

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?pag...

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?pag...

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/articles/r...

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?pag... (NB!!!)

As for restoring to a different drive, not too sure on this...but maybe the above will assist.

Thanks!

Alternative ways to access Backup Exec Technical Support:

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/blogs/alte...

pkh's picture

When you re-direct the restore to another directory, but use the same database name, what you are doing is shifting the location of the database.  Although the database files for the old database is still on your disk, you would not be able to access it.  You can only access the restored database, so as far as the SQL server is concern, you are going to replace the existing database with a new one.  Hence the overwriting.

If you want to keep your old database and be able to access it, you should restore to a new database name.  You can choose to either re-direct to a new directory or use the default directory.  You will now have 2 versions of your database, the existing and the restored one with a new name.

SOLUTION