Endpoint Protection

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Upgrading from 12.1.14 to 12.1.2 -- Any concerns?

ℬrίαη

ℬrίαηDec 03, 2012 05:40 PM

• 1.  Upgrading from 12.1.14 to 12.1.2 -- Any concerns?

Posted Dec 03, 2012 12:32 PM

Hi,

We were testing some Windows 8 machines.  SEP 12.1.14 doesn't play nicely with Windows 8.  Windows 8 wouldn't activate.  Office 2013 wouldn't update.  We've narrowed it down to Symantec.

I see 12.1.2 is out and works with Windows 8.

I'm studying the release notes, but if anyone out there knows the answers to these questions, that would speed things up....

Can we just use a client install to get a Windows 8 machine working with SEP?  That would be installing SEP 12.1.2 on the client machine and leaving 12.1.14 on our server.  Easiest solution.

I would like to upgrade the server side SEP management part though.  Is that just a matter of running the two installation exe's?  Symantec_Endpoint_Protection_12.1.2_Part1_Installation_EN.exe and Symantec_Endpoint_Protection_12.1.2_Part2_Tools_EN.exe  ?

With an upgrade, is it going to save all our settings on the management side?  Our manager/server SEP upgraded to 12.1.2 will still communicate with our client computers still on 12.1.14, right?

Once we've upgraded the server/manager to 12.1.2, will that automatically push out an update to all the clients, or do we have to manually update each one?  And will they still communicate with the server for updates, etc. in the meantime?

And to check -- Is the best method to upgrade the server manager and then the clients?

And we just do an upgrade with those two exe's on the server side?  Not a complete uninstall/reinstall right?

• 2.  RE: Upgrading from 12.1.14 to 12.1.2 -- Any concerns?

Posted Dec 03, 2012 01:22 PM

it looks like I can use these two files on the server.

Symantec_Endpoint_Protection_12.1.2_Part1_Installation_EN.exe and Symantec_Endpoint_Protection_12.1.2_Part2_Tools_EN.exe