View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Virtual disk will not mount after MacOS upgrade to 10.7.4

• 1.  Virtual disk will not mount after MacOS upgrade to 10.7.4

Posted Jun 06, 2012 09:37 AM

Cannot mount virtual disks

• 2.  RE: Virtual disk will not mount after MacOS upgrade to 10.7.4

Posted Jun 06, 2012 10:24 AM

I've been using Macintosh computers since 1984, and PGP encryption products since the mid-1990s, through the transitions from PGP Inc. to Network Associates to PGP Corp. to Symantec. I've got gigabytes of encrypted virtual disks, which were encrypted for good reasons, including protection of confidential student records, in the somewhat less-than-ideal security environment of a university department. I need continued secure access to these data, and the "decrypt everything and wait for a solution" option isn't a very good plan.

So, understanding that something perhaps "went wrong" between developer seeds of MacOS 10.7.4 and the final release, and not blaming anyone anywhere, certainly not frustrated engineers—could we please have an update on where things stand? Through all these years, I've never lost confidence in the underlying stability and security of the PGP system—until now. The absence of feedback, even if it's no more than customer reassurance while somebody somewhere fixes this catastrophic fail, has got me rattled. And I'm sure I'm not the only one.

Prof. Tony Affigne, Providence College

• 3.  RE: Virtual disk will not mount after MacOS upgrade to 10.7.4

Posted Jun 19, 2012 02:52 PM

Please specify Mac hardware and software.

Do you see any error message?

Screenshoots?

• 4.  RE: Virtual disk will not mount after MacOS upgrade to 10.7.4

Posted Jun 19, 2012 05:16 PM

Julian_M,

Thanks for your reply; here's my system profile:

Hardware:

iMac 21.5-inch, Mid 2011

Processor: 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5

Memory: 12 GB 1333 MHz DDR3

Software:

Mac OS X Lion 10.7.4 (11E53)

PGP Desktop 10.2.1 MacOSX

----------------------------------------