Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

WARNING 7.5: Directory Synchronization Schedule Deletes Users

Created: 21 Jan 2014 | 3 comments

We just upgraded to 7.5 and noticed that when the Directory Synchronization Schedule runs it deletes all the users and then adds them back with new GUIDS. This breaks all asset associations since user accounts no longer have the same GUID. I suggest anyone using Asset and User accociations to hardware to turn off this job prior to upgrade or DO NOT upgrade at all till it is fixed.

Currently we have to mount our pre-upgrade DB and use that to fix all our Asset associations that we had. PITA.

Operating Systems:

Comments 3 CommentsJump to latest comment

SK's picture

Have you installed and used just 7.5 or are you running HF1, 2 or 3?

Connect Etiquette: "Mark as Solution" those posts which resolve your problem, and give a thumbs up to useful comments, articles and downloads.

noodleNT's picture

Turns out this is a bigger issue. It breaks security as users keep getting removed from rolls. In addition the import option to create filters on the matched user for AD group imports also is broken.

I hear there is a point fix coming out but I suggest everyone hold out till these issues are fixed.