Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Backup Exec 2012 client/server side deduplication option missing after job created

Created: 16 Apr 2013 | 2 comments
KentM's picture
0 Agree
0 Disagree
0 0 Votes
Login to vote

After a less than stellar upgrade/migration experience from Backup Exec 2010 R3 to Backup Exec 2012 (BE2012) plus SP1a plus available hot fixes, I decided the "easiest" way out of that mess was to just recreate ALL my backup jobs for around 200 servers and workstations - no small feat!  I add all my backed up servers and workstations to BE2012 as their NetBIOS name, not the FQDN - I've used this product for 18+ years and I've always done it this way and it has worked fine.  I've frustratingly noticed that when I add servers to BE2012 using the NetBIOS name method and then create resource specific backup jobs as either file selections (including system state), SQL Server selections, Exchange selections, or SharePoint selections (NO mixing of those four resource types; so basically unique jobs per backed up server per resource type), I am no longer allowed to change on the newly created backup jobs AFTER the backup jobs are initially created where client/server side deduplication takes place for Exchange or SharePoint backups, however I am still able to change where client/server side deduplication takes place for file and SQL Server backups.  This is a particular annoyance for me as I created/RE-created a TON of Exchange backups and now I want to change them from server to client side deduplication, and I'm missing the option to do so in the "edit jobs" dialog! :-(  Please fix this in the soon-to-be-beta tested BE2012 SP2 (fingers crossed).  There is a related case with your technical support (case #04105557) for which the proposed resolution is, IMHO, off-base and in short, I guess we agreed to disagree.  This SHOULD work with NetBIOS names - FQDNs should NOT be "required" (and the proof I was provided by your technical support on that was sketchy at best!).  I don't necessarily believe this to be a bug, but I do believe it to be an oversight/omission from the "edit jobs" dialog, so please put it back! :-)

Thank you for your time.

~Kent

Comments 2 CommentsJump to latest comment

PackMatt73's picture

Hi Kent.

I have forwarded your post to Product Mgmt.

+1
Login to vote