Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

Backup Wizard

Created: 10 Oct 2013 | 4 comments
John Bonaccorso's picture
0 Agree
0 Disagree
0 0 Votes
Login to vote

On the Job Setup pane of Backup Exec 2010 R3.  select "Backup" link next to "Search Knowledge Base."

Check box "Always use Backup Wizard"  is too easy to inadvertently check.  Once it has been checked and executed, no apparent way to turn it off other than deleting the user profile.  Inconsistent between the "Backup" and "Restore" link too.  There is no "Always use Restore Wizard" check box.  If you are going to provide a way to change default behaviors, you should provide an easy way to reset them.  I don't like the backup wizard and I want to turn it off.  I don't want to have to go to the other places or click the drop-down and select the other option every time nor do I want to have to delete my Windows user profile or even just the Symantec Key under HKEY_CurrentUser\Software and have to re-customize my entire UI and recreate my custom filters and views.  Please fix this in the next service pack.

 jbonaccorso@landstar.com

Network Engineer
904.390.1374

Comments 4 CommentsJump to latest comment

pkh's picture

Your problem is moot because for BE 2012, you always get the wizard.

0
Login to vote
John Bonaccorso's picture

Precisely the reason I have no intention of upgrading to 2012 at this time.  If you note, that is not the version I'm talking about.  Is there a way to undo this action in 2010 R3 with SP3 applied?

0
Login to vote
John Bonaccorso's picture

Never mind folks, when things are poorly documented, hunt and peck and leaving no menu unexplored will solve the problem.  "Tools" "Reneable disabled messages."  At that point all messages that you disabled - intentionaly or inadvertantly will be re-enabled which returns the "Backup" link to its default behavior of the "Backup Wzard" being optional.

 

 

 

 

0
Login to vote
John Bonaccorso's picture

What I find hilarious is that if you check the "Never show me this again" box when deselecting the wizard, you ge a convenient way of reversing THAT decision right  in the Tools menu.  "Re-enable the Backup Wizard from the Backup Button."  Why is Symantec cramming this thing down my throat?

0
Login to vote