Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

I don’t want users to have access to an item that has been marked for deletion.

Created: 01 Apr 2013 • Updated: 06 Aug 2013 | 3 comments
Tony Stasa's picture
0 Agree
0 Disagree
0 0 Votes
Login to vote
Status: Reviewed

Submitting on behalf of a customer:   Orrick, see case reference: 03607385

I deleted email with attachments and then restored them…. I still have access to the attachments after restoring the shortcuts. On the Deleted Items tab of the properties for my vault the number of deleted items ticked up, and does not tick down after I restore the shortcut. Also, the shortcut goes directly to the dumpster. The offered solution he had of turning on “Delete Orphaned Shortcuts” is not a good idea because many times an email is sent to more than one person. We put the body of the message in the stub, so all the user is missing are the attachments. Most of the time the user can contact others in the email and get the attachment.

The Customer wants this enhancement:   I don’t want users to have access to an item that has been marked for deletion.

Soe detaileds around the behavior he would lie to see changed below. 

If users are able to copy shortcuts, therefore making multiple copies of shortcuts. When an item is deleted only the original shortcut is deleted, the copies will remain, as Enterprise Vault has no idea these were copied. The only way to ensure these are deleted when the original item is deleted would be to ensure the “Delete Orphan Shortcut” operation is turned on. 

When this operation is active, the Archive task will scan through the mailboxes looking for new items to archive, then a second scan will process the items found in the first scan of the archive task. This creates an xml list of eligible files. On this scan the list of Orphaned shortcuts is also populated. Orphan shortcut refer to a shortcut that no longer has an archived item associated with it. This process will then check to see if the shortcut has an associated item in an existing archive, if not then towards the end of the archive run,  where shortcut processing takes place, these orphan shortcuts would then be removed when the archive task runs. This change is to be made to your existing Exchange Mailbox policy, then you would need to manually run the provisioning task to apply the changes immediately.

Comments 3 CommentsJump to latest comment

Rob.Wilcox's picture

Can you explain a little bit about what the use case is, because I don't follow you...?

Are you saying:

- Policy is configured so that users can delete items from their archive, and the delete option in the desktop policy is set to 'both' when referring to shortcut / archived item deletion.

a/ Copy an archived item's shortcut in a mailbox.

b/ Delete the first archived item

c/ Access is still available to the archived item if the user opens the 'copy' of the shortcut

You want this third bullet point to not be possible?

0
Login to vote
Alex Brown's picture

I must admit I don't follow what is being asked for here. Could you please help us out and simplify your explanation?

0
Login to vote
JesusWept3's picture

Well when you delete the item and it goes to the dumpster, the Saveset record remains in the database and the item is added to the Journal Delete, it then will delete the Saveset record after the expiry period has been exceeded and the item can no longer be retrieved...if possible it will also delete the relevant DVS/DVSSP

The item can still be opened via a URL or a shortcut because all the pieces remain in the database intact, but the item won't be shown in Archive Explorer, Browser Search, DA search etc because they all rely on the indexes, and the item would have been removed from the index

There is also an issue where if you export an archive to PST, it will take the dumpster contents with it

http://www.symantec.com/business/support/index?page=content&id=TECH129017

0
Login to vote