Saving a policy with no changes should not change the modified date
If a policy is opened in the Symantec Management Platform Console to review the settings and then saved without making any changes, the modified date on the policy changes. The change in the modification date will trigger replication of the policy across the hierarchy and clients that are targetted to run the policy will execute it again.
If a policy is viewed and the save button pressed but no changes have been made, then the modification date of the policy should not change. Alternatively the Save button should be disabled until a change is made to the policy. A person simply reviewing the policy would only have the Cancel button available to quit the page.