Video Screencast Help
Symantec to Separate Into Two Focused, Industry-Leading Technology Companies. Learn more.

SEP 12.1 - Purging obsolete clients from the database

Created: 27 Sep 2011 • Updated: 14 Nov 2011 | 8 comments
SolarisMaestro's picture
+11 11 Votes
Login to vote
Symantec single video player.

This is a video tutorial of the steps outlining "Purging obsolete clients from the database" Please see the SEP 12.1 Implementation Guide where this video is referring to. 1 In the Symantec Endpoint Protection Manager, on the Admin page, click Servers. 2 In the Servers tree, select the database server and then click Edit Database Properties. 3 On the Database Properties > General tab, change the interval to delete the clients that have not connected in X days to 1 day. 4 Click OK. 5 Wait 24 hours and then revert the setting to 30 days or another interval that suits your requirements.

Comments 8 CommentsJump to latest comment

MaRRuT@CC's picture

Alot of customers asked me already about that! Thx for sharing!

0
Login to vote
Chetan Savade's picture

It's a Nice Video !!!

Chetan Savade
Sr Technical Support Engineer, Endpoint Security
Enterprise Technical Support
CCNA | CCNP | MCSE | SCTS |

Don't forget to mark your thread as 'SOLVED' with the answer that best helps you.<

0
Login to vote
Sumit G's picture

It's a helpful video. Thanks a lot..

Regards

Sumit G.

0
Login to vote
sunnyc_up's picture

Nice

Regard

Sunny Chauhan

0
Login to vote
SolarisMaestro's picture

Note that as of SEP 12.1 RU1, this has now been moved to the domain properties:

This is a change in RU1 and is by design. The feature has been moved to the Domain properties so it can be adjusted per domain. See fix notes under Etrack: 2424460: "Purging of stale clients cannot be configured by domain"

https://www-secure.symantec.com/connect/downloads/sep-121-ru1-release-fix-notes

See example below:

Thank you for marking as a solution if you felt this response met your needs!

+4
Login to vote
InsentraCameronM's picture

Thanks for the video:)

If you have the clients purged monthly and you decommission an endpoint on the first day of the month that client will stay in the database for the next month. I guess that the issue is that that endpoint will probably be reported on as a client whose definitions are out of date, as an example, until it is purged. This is not desireable if you want accurate reports.

I would be great if there was a script of something that you could use to manually remove endpoints from the database. I have had a number of customers who would like this functionality.

Cameron Mottus

0
Login to vote
Davinci_uk's picture

Good video - thanks all - quick question/s if thats OK?

Default is 30 days, right?

Do you have any recommendations on changing this time?

 

Also what is the consequence of a client being deleted and comes back online in future?  Will it create an entry in the Databsse again and download defs or will it be an unmanaged client?

 

Thanks

0
Login to vote
pete_4u2002's picture

Default is 30 days, right? yes

Do you have any recommendations on changing this time?

its upto your requirement

Also what is the consequence of a client being deleted and comes back online in future?  Will it create an entry in the Databsse again and download defs or will it be an unmanaged client?

it will be entered as managed client.

 

0
Login to vote