1. /
  2. Security Response/
  3. W32.Mixor.AR@mm

W32.Mixor.AR@mm

Risk Level 2: Low

Discovered:
April 8, 2007
Updated:
April 9, 2007 8:56:19 AM
Also Known As:
W32/Dref-AF [Sophos], W32/Dref-AG [Sophos]
Type:
Worm
Infection Length:
51,342 bytes
Systems Affected:
Windows 98, Windows 95, Windows XP, Windows Me, Windows NT, Windows Server 2003, Windows 2000
Once executed, the worm creates the following files:
The file %System%\wincom32.ini is created by Trojan.Peacomm.

The worm modifies the following registry entry to disable the Shared Access service in Windows 2000/XP:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess\"Start" = "4"

The worm then deletes the following registry entry:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Micorsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run\"Agent"

The worm creates a service with the following characteristics:
Display Name: wincom32
Binary Path: %System%\wincom32.sys

The worm then creates the following mutex:
Killekkdkkd

Next, the worm ends security-related processes, if one of the following words is included in the window title or process name:
  • mcafee
  • taskmgr
  • hijack
  • f-pro
  • lockdown
  • msconfig
  • firewall
  • blackice
  • avg
  • vsmon
  • zonea
  • spybot
  • nod32
  • reged
  • rav
  • nav
  • avp
  • troja
  • viru
  • anti
  • alsys
  • Registry Editor

The worm then gathers email addresses from files on all fixed drives and attempts to send a copy of itself to all the domains except for those that contain microsoft, .mil or .gov.

The worm uses its own SMTP engine to send itself to the email addresses that it finds. The email has the following characteristics:

From:
Spoofed or one of the following:
  • Aldora@yahoo.com
  • Alysia@yahoo.com
  • Amorita@yahoo.com
  • Anita@yahoo.com
  • April@yahoo.com
  • Ara@yahoo.com
  • Aretina@yahoo.com
  • Barbra@yahoo.com
  • Becky@yahoo.com
  • Bella@yahoo.com
  • Bettina@yahoo.com
  • Blenda@yahoo.com
  • Briana@yahoo.com
  • Bridget@yahoo.com
  • Caitlin@yahoo.com
  • Camille@yahoo.com
  • Cara@yahoo.com
  • Carla@yahoo.com
  • Carmen@yahoo.com
  • Chelsea@yahoo.com
  • Clarissa@yahoo.com
  • Damita@yahoo.com
  • Danielle@yahoo.com
  • Daria@yahoo.com
  • Diana@yahoo.com
  • Donna@yahoo.com
  • Dora@yahoo.com
  • Doris@yahoo.com
  • Ebony@yahoo.com
  • Eden@yahoo.com
  • Eliza@yahoo.com
  • Emily@yahoo.com
  • Erika@yahoo.com
  • Eve@yahoo.com
  • Evelyn@yahoo.com
  • Faith@yahoo.com
  • Gale@yahoo.com
  • Gilda@yahoo.com
  • Gloria@yahoo.com
  • Haley@yahoo.com
  • Helga@yahoo.com
  • Holly@yahoo.com
  • Ida@yahoo.com
  • Idona@yahoo.com
  • Iris@yahoo.com
  • Isabel@yahoo.com
  • Ivana@yahoo.com
  • Ivory@yahoo.com
  • Janet@yahoo.com
  • Jewel@yahoo.com
  • Joanna@yahoo.com
  • Julie@yahoo.com
  • Juliet@yahoo.com
  • Kacey@yahoo.com
  • Kali@yahoo.com
  • Kara@yahoo.com
  • Kassia@yahoo.com
  • Katrina@yahoo.com
  • Kyle@yahoo.com
  • Lara@yahoo.com
  • Laura@yahoo.com
  • Linda@yahoo.com
  • Lisa@yahoo.com
  • Lolita@yahoo.com
  • Lynn@yahoo.com
  • Maia@yahoo.com
  • Mary@yahoo.com
  • Melody@yahoo.com
  • Mimi@yahoo.com
  • Myra@yahoo.com
  • Nadia@yahoo.com
  • Naomi@yahoo.com
  • Natalie@yahoo.com
  • Nicole@yahoo.com
  • Nina@yahoo.com
  • Nora@yahoo.com
  • Nova@yahoo.com
  • Olga@yahoo.com
  • Olivia@yahoo.com
  • Pamela@yahoo.com
  • Peggy@yahoo.com
  • Queen@yahoo.com
  • Rachel@yahoo.com
  • Rae@yahoo.com
  • Rita@yahoo.com
  • Rosa@yahoo.com
  • Ruby@yahoo.com
  • Sharon@yahoo.com
  • Silver@yahoo.com
  • Ula@yahoo.com
  • Uma@yahoo.com
  • Valda@yahoo.com
  • Valora@yahoo.com
  • Vanessa@yahoo.com
  • Vicky@yahoo.com
  • Violet@yahoo.com
  • Vivian@yahoo.com
  • Wendy@yahoo.com
  • Willa@yahoo.com
  • Xandra@yahoo.com
  • Xenia@yahoo.com
  • Xylia@yahoo.com
  • Zenia@yahoo.com
  • Zilya@yahoo.com
  • Zoe@yahoo.com

Subject:
One of the following:
  • USA Declares War on Iran
  • USA Missle Strike: Iran War just have started
  • Missle Strike: The USA kills more then 20000 Iranian citizens
  • Missle Strike: The USA kills more then 1000 Iranian citizens
  • Missle Strike: The USA kills more then 10000 Iranian citizens
  • Israel Just Have Started World War III
  • USA Just Have Started World War III
  • Iran Just Have Started World War III

Message Body:
None

Attachment:
One of the following:
  • More.exe
  • Read More.exe
  • Click Here.exe
  • Click Me.exe
  • Read Me.exe
  • Movie.exe
  • News.exe
  • Video.exe

Recommendations

Symantec Security Response encourages all users and administrators to adhere to the following basic security "best practices":

  • Use a firewall to block all incoming connections from the Internet to services that should not be publicly available. By default, you should deny all incoming connections and only allow services you explicitly want to offer to the outside world.
  • Enforce a password policy. Complex passwords make it difficult to crack password files on compromised computers. This helps to prevent or limit damage when a computer is compromised.
  • Ensure that programs and users of the computer use the lowest level of privileges necessary to complete a task. When prompted for a root or UAC password, ensure that the program asking for administration-level access is a legitimate application.
  • Disable AutoPlay to prevent the automatic launching of executable files on network and removable drives, and disconnect the drives when not required. If write access is not required, enable read-only mode if the option is available.
  • Turn off file sharing if not needed. If file sharing is required, use ACLs and password protection to limit access. Disable anonymous access to shared folders. Grant access only to user accounts with strong passwords to folders that must be shared.
  • Turn off and remove unnecessary services. By default, many operating systems install auxiliary services that are not critical. These services are avenues of attack. If they are removed, threats have less avenues of attack.
  • If a threat exploits one or more network services, disable, or block access to, those services until a patch is applied.
  • Always keep your patch levels up-to-date, especially on computers that host public services and are accessible through the firewall, such as HTTP, FTP, mail, and DNS services.
  • Configure your email server to block or remove email that contains file attachments that are commonly used to spread threats, such as .vbs, .bat, .exe, .pif and .scr files.
  • Isolate compromised computers quickly to prevent threats from spreading further. Perform a forensic analysis and restore the computers using trusted media.
  • Train employees not to open attachments unless they are expecting them. Also, do not execute software that is downloaded from the Internet unless it has been scanned for viruses. Simply visiting a compromised Web site can cause infection if certain browser vulnerabilities are not patched.
  • If Bluetooth is not required for mobile devices, it should be turned off. If you require its use, ensure that the device's visibility is set to "Hidden" so that it cannot be scanned by other Bluetooth devices. If device pairing must be used, ensure that all devices are set to "Unauthorized", requiring authorization for each connection request. Do not accept applications that are unsigned or sent from unknown sources.
  • For further information on the terms used in this document, please refer to the Security Response glossary.
Writeup By: Takayoshi Nakayama
Summary| Technical Details| Removal

Search Threats

Search by name
Example: W32.Beagle.AG@mm
STAR Antimalware Protection Technologies
Internet Security Threat Report, Volume 17
Symantec DeepSight Screensaver