Endpoint Protection

View Only
  • 1.  Connecting to endpoint clients in Antivirus Corporate Edition 10.2

Posted Sep 28, 2009 02:41 PM
    Hey everyone,

I am quite new to Symantec Antivirus, so please bare with me.

I have just installed 60 or so instances of Symantec AV Corporate 10.2 and one of the server edition on our organizations server. First I installed the server edition and then proceeded to individually install the other copies. I selected Managed and they all found the server just fine after I typed in the IP address. However 25% or so seemed to not update their definitions, while the other 75% did.

At this point I went into the LiveUpdate Administration Utility and was unable to find anything helpful. However, in Symantec System Center I was able to find a list of all AV clients that have talked to the server AV program. Under the User column, most had (Logged Out). I can not access these AV clients but I cannot figure out how to get them logged in so I can update them.

Also some of the Users names are the non-administrative account (In windows) and others are the admin accounts. Do i need to add permissions to Symantec for standard users under Vista?

Any help, pointers in the right directions, or request for clarity is very welcomed.

Thank you.

• 2.  RE: Connecting to endpoint clients in Antivirus Corporate Edition 10.2

Posted Sep 28, 2009 04:21 PM
    So it turns out that the computers that have not been updating are 64-bit. Is there a way to download the 64 bit definitions as well as the 32-bit definitions, both off of the Server. I was able to adjust most of the 64-bit clients to download from the internet, but there is one that will not allow me to connect to it so change that setting. Any ideas?

Thanks

• 3.  RE: Connecting to endpoint clients in Antivirus Corporate Edition 10.2

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Sep 29, 2009 02:39 AM