Web Application Firewall & Reverse Proxy

View Only
  • 1.  Failover in Proxy ASG S400

Posted May 23, 2017 02:01 PM
    Good afternoon dear

Thank you very much in advance for your attention. I commented that I'm new to Proxy's Bluecoat implementation, now Symantec, but I'd like to know how they handle Failover.
    I have read in the documentation that for Explicit Proxy scenarios Failover functionality is available using "IP address failover", something similar to the VRRP deployment. Now, for Transparent Proxy scenarios I notice that the deployment is creating "Software bridges", but I must have physical interfaces for deployment. Am I right? My second query is that I understand that using either method ("IP address Faillover" or "Software Bridges") I have to first create the fix and after having a single logical unit I start to configure the computer as if it were only one, ¿ This is so? O Do I have to configure each computer individually and when any inconvenience occurs with one of them, would it go to the configuration of the other?

I would appreciate if you could support me with the subject. Thank you in advance for your attention.

Best regards

Martin Torres L

• 2.  RE: Failover in Proxy ASG S400

Broadcom Employee
    Posted May 23, 2017 02:07 PM

This forum is not for Blue Coat's ProxySG, this is only for the Symantec Web Gateway.

• 3.  RE: Failover in Proxy ASG S400

Posted May 23, 2017 02:20 PM

I've moved this thread to the Web Application Firewall & Reverse Proxy forum.

• 4.  RE: Failover in Proxy ASG S400

Posted May 23, 2017 03:30 PM

Thank you very much Brian ¡¡¡¡ excellent¡¡¡

Best regards

Martin Torres L

• 5.  RE: Failover in Proxy ASG S400

Posted Jun 19, 2017 10:44 AM

Not really sure what you actually want to know.

But a how to configure can be found here.

As to configuring client systems, the only time you have to configure anything on a client system is with explicit proxy.