Competency Overview

Competencies recognize and reward your experience, insight and expertise in a solution or delivery area.

Build your capabilities to deliver a better customer experience with Secure One Competencies

Secure One Competencies have been designed to keep up with the dynamic and fast growing Security market. Partners who demonstrate proficiency in specific solution areas by achieving Symantec Certified Specialist (SCS) certifications and illustrate unique expertise to customers will be rewarded with financial and non-financial benefits.

Partners who possess elevated status in multiple competencies will have the ability to advance through the Secure One metal tiers and earn additional benefits.

Metal Tiers

Partners can achieve the following tiers within a Competency.

  • Silver
    Partners at the Silver tier have achieved program-defined revenue targets.
  • Gold
    Partners at the Gold tier demonstrate the capability and commitment to deliver the respective Symantec solutions. These partners have achieved program-defined revenue targets and completed the required certification exams, where applicable.
  • Platinum
    Partners at the Platinum tier demonstrate advanced capabilities in the respective Competency. This elevated level of Competency indicates achievement of the top program-defined revenue targets, and an increased number of certified specialists on staff to support our joint customers.

Competencies align to the Secure One framework by solution complexity to one of two business models: Resell and Integrate.

  • Resell
    A partner business model that involves reselling products and solutions from vendors to end-customers, typically without providing additional service, support, or customization.  
  • Integrate
    A partner business model that typically involves recommending and building integrated solutions from multiple components/products, with strong focus on service delivery and professional services.

These business models may also be referenced in the context of Competencies and the certification requirements for each.

Competency Areas and Product Families

Secure One Competencies are focused on four (4) areas and are designed to help partners effectively deliver solutions a customer needs and assist you in the way you do business.